On this page:

St George’s Hospital is one of London’s leading teaching hospitals and one of four Major Trauma Centres in the capital.

The anaesthetic department has over 100 consultants  providing expertise in a wide variety of anaesthetic subspecialties. We also have over 60 trainees from the St George’s School of Anaesthesia and fellows who rotate through these subspecialities.

Members of our department include Dr Judith Dinsmore (President of the Neuroanaesthesia & Critical Care Society of Great Britain and Ireland), Dr P Razis (Past President of the Neuroanaesthesia Society of Great Britain and Ireland), Dr Nick Fletcher (Past President of the Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthetists and Critical Care) and the late Dr JP Van Besouw (Past President of the Royal College of Anaesthetists).

We strive to improve the quality of care that we deliver to patients through our advanced educational services, research and training opportunities. In August 2015 we were awarded Anaesthesia Clinical Services Accreditation (ACSA) by the Royal College of Anaesthetists . One of only 20 currently accredited in the country and the 4th hospital nationally to be accredited when ACSA was first introduced, this reflects our dedication to delivering and maintaining a high quality of care to our patients.

Department Calendar



Patient Information



Education, Teaching, CPD