Congratulations to our six new public governors on their election to the Trust’s Council of Governors.

Our Governors play an important role in representing the interest of our members and the local communities we serve.

Joining the Council of Governors are:

  • Nasir Akhtar (Merton)
  • Nasir Javed Khan (Merton)
  • Sandhya Drew (rest of England)
  • Basheer Khan (Wandsworth)
  • Afzal Ashraf (Wandsworth)
  • Ataul Qadir Tahir (Wandsworth)

We’re also pleased to welcome back three governors who were re-elected following January’s elections. Stephen Sambrook (rest of England), Anneke de Boer (Merton) and Jenni Doman (Staff Governor, Non-Clinical) will all continue in their roles on the Council of Governors.

Richard Mycroft, Lead Governor, said: “I’m delighted to welcome six new governors to our Council of Governors, and see that three of our current governors were re-elected.

“Ensuring our members have a voice in shaping the future of St George’s is so important and it was encouraging to see so many people participate in these elections. Thank you to everyone who voted, and to all who ran for election.”

Gillian Norton, Chairman, said: “The Council of Governors plays a vital role in representing the views of our members and the communities we serve. The experience and insight of our governors is crucial in helping us to reach our ambition of providing outstanding care, every time.

“Thank you to all who participated in the elections and I look forward to working closely with our new and re-elected governors in the future.”

The terms of office of the new and returning governors began on 1 February 2020. The full election results can be found here.

2021 elections

If you’re interested in becoming a Governor in future, we’ll be holding further elections to our Council of Governors in January 2021. We’ll be seeking eight public governors from Wandsworth, Merton and the rest of England and three staff governors.

If you’d like to know more, we’ll be holding awareness sessions during the summer and autumn this year.