It was a day of celebration on Friday 12 May as nurses, midwives and healthcare assistants gathered at St George’s Hospital for our annual International Nurses Day Awards ceremony.

There were presentations, dance breaks, sing-a-longs, and the all-important awards – presented by Avey Bhatia, our Chief Nurse and Director of Infection Prevention and Control.

Avey commented: “It was an honour to celebrate International Nurses Day with the inspirational and dedicated nurses, midwives and Healthcare Assistants that make up Team St George’s. Congratulations to all our winners, and thank you again to our teams for the incredible work you do every day.”

And the winners are…

Team of the Year – Frederick Hewitt Ward

Nurse of the Year – Rebecca Wise, Neonatal Unit

Midwife of the Year – Vicki Grayson, Maternity/Carmen Suite

HCA of the Year – June Sproston, Frederick Hewitt Ward

Midwife Support Worker of the Year – Vicky A. Vigineswaran, Antenatal and Carmen Suite

Preceptor of the Year – Sandra Martinez, International Nurse Preceptor

Mentor of the Year – Agnes Refols, Senior Sister in Neurotheatres

Special Recognition Award – Illaria Tiberi, Florence Nightingale Ward