On 16 May we will be holding the St George’s Hero Awards – celebrating the outstanding work of staff from across the Trust.

Last week, the judging panel, made up of members of the Trust board, Foundation Trust Governors and representatives of St George’s Hospital Charity, read through each of the nearly 200 nominations sent in and decided on a short list for the eight categories.

Today, we are opening up one of the award categories – The Lifesaver of the Year award – to a public vote!

To cast your vote, read the three stories below, and email your favourite to staff.awards19@stgeorges.nhs.uk by 5pm on Friday 12 April. The winner will be announced at the ceremony on 16 May.

  1. Miss Helen Witherow, Consultant Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon and team – Helen treated former BBC journalist Martin Bell after a fall left him with severe facial injuries. He broke major facial bones in the fall, and was transferred to St George’s for specialist maxillofacial surgery. Helen and her team re-attatched Mr Bell’s upper mouth to his jawbone, and used four plates and 16 screws to repair the many different facial fractures he sustained in the fall.
  2. Dr Nicholas Prince, Consultant Paediatric Intensivist, Dr Antonia Clarke, Consultant Paediatric Neurologist, Paediatric Intensive Care Unit and the paediatric nursing and therapies teamsIssy Dolby had a stroke, aged eight, at dance class and was brought to St George’s. She spent three days in an induced coma and woke up without movement down her right side and was unable to talk, walk, eat or drink independently. Seven months later, thanks to a huge multidisciplinary effort, Issy has now returned to dancing
  3. Dr Thomas Breen, Consultant Anaesthetist, Dr Donovan Duffy, Consultant Neonatologist, Mr Zahid Mukhtar, Consultant Paediatric Surgeon and teams Lacey Sherriff was born more than three months prematurely and was transferred to St George’s for urgent specialist surgery. During the operation, Lacey’s heart stopped beating for a total of 22 minutes. Thomas led the theatre and resuscitation team that didn’t give up on Lacey, and supported her in every way they could to help her pull through.

Thank you to St George’s Hospital Charity and to Pelican London Hotel & Residence and Yellow Brick Group for their support for the awards.

The nominees in the other categories are below (please note these are not open to public vote). A huge well done to all of our nominees!

Team of the Year 

  • Gunning and Holdsworth wards
  • Paediatric Emergency Department team
  • The Staff Flu Vaccination team
  • Specialist Nurses in Organ Donation

Volunteer of the Year 

  • Jackie Weston, Trevor Howell Day Unit
  • Cathy Sage, Gwiillim ward
  • Alan Bowen, St George’s Hospital Charity

Innovation of the Year 

  • New Beginnings
  • Assistive Technology Service 

Rising Star 

  • Deepa Leelamany, Urology Clinical Nurse Specialist 
  • Alexandra McClements, WellChild Paediatric LTV Nurse Specialist
  • Stacey Lane, General Porter
  • Sonia Monteiro, Staff Nurse

Lifetime Achievement 

  • Michaela Mayhew, Stem Cell Transplant Nurse Co-ordinator
  • Karen Marks, Acting Deputy Head of the South West Thames Genetics Laboratory
  • Steve Jones, Physiotherapist
  • Manuel Dias, Healthcare Assistant 

Inspirational Leader 

  • Jenni Doman, Deputy Director, Estates & Facilities
  • Sue Affleck, Team Leader, Paediatric Clinical Nurse Specialists
  • Professor Asma Khalil, Consultant Obstetrician

Unsung Hero 

  • Pearl Livingstone, Admin Co-ordinator
  • Donna Rowe, Catering Hostess 
  • Katherine Ramos, Staff Nurse